Differences Between PMBOK 7 and PMBOK 6 – PMP Exam


PMBOK 7 is going to release on August 21. Here I shall outline the differences between PMBOK 7 and PMBOK 6.

PMBOK Content

The latest version of the PMBOK set to be released this summer includes a major content overhaul from the PMBOK 6 edition. Reflective of shifting project management priorities, PMBOK 7 focuses on performance over processes. Below are the main differences between PMBOK 7 and PMBOK 6.


PMBOK 6 covers the project environment, the role of the project manager, and the 10 essential knowledge areas within project management.

PMBOK 6 Knowledge Areas

Within PMBOK 6, each knowledge area is accompanied by processes, inputs, tools, techniques, and outputs. The 10 project management knowledge areas in PMBOK 6 are defined as:

  1. Integration – Implement the right procedures to complete the project’s required tasks.
  2. Scope – Document all project goals and deliverables, deadlines, and budgets to better plan for the project.
  3. Schedule – Maintain a steady pace to complete the project within the required timeframe.
  4. Cost – Manage the project’s budget through estimating and allocating all related costs.
  5. Quality – Manage and maintain a high level of quality throughout the project.
  6. Resource – Improve project efficiency through planning and scheduling the project’s resources.
  7. Communications – Plan, manage and monitor communications to ensure the right people are receiving the right messages.
  8. Risk – Anticipating potential risks to better plan for their potential outcomes.
  9. Procurement – Secure all required materials and services to deliver the project.
  10. Stakeholder – Keep stakeholders engaged throughout the project’s duration


PMBOK 7 include tailoring, models, methods, artefacts, and eight performance domains. There’s a drastic shift from processes to performance and the main differences between PMBOK 7 and PMBOK 6. The performance domains are focused on overall outcomes rather than just the processes and techniques used within a project’s executions. The importance of project quality is emphasized.

PMBOK 7 TailoringTailoring is a new framework found in PMBOK 7 and is based on the concept that a single approach may not allow project managers to meet the required project deliverables, organizational demands, and project needs.

Once a project manager has selected an initial development approach, project tailoring encourages the manager to adopt a project’s specs to meet all project requirements.

PMBOK 7 Models, Methods, Artifacts

The new models, methods, and artefacts section found in PMBOK 7 vs PMBOK 6 provides users with a plethora of resources such as articles, videos, and templates, tying them to the performance domain of which they would be most useful. This offers great value for aspiring and working project managers alike.

PMBOK 7 Performance Domains

While earlier PMBOK versions focused on knowledge areas, the 7th edition has replaced the traditional knowledge areas with performance domains.

The eight performance domains summarize the related elements essential to a project’s success:

  1. Team
  2. Stakeholders
  3. Life cycle
  4. Planning
  5. Uncertainty and ambiguity
  6. Delivery
  7. Performance
  8. Project work

The new PMBOK performance domains focus on delivering value to the organization and its stakeholders through project delivery. One of the key differences between PMBOK 7 and PMBOK 6.

Project Management Standards
A second substantial change between PMBOK 7 vs PMBOK 6 can be found under their unique project management standards.


In PMBOK 6, the standard for project management included five comprehensive domains — initiating, planning, executing, monitoring and controlling, and closing. These standards summarize the processes that project managers apply to deliver a successful project.


In the 7th edition of PMBOK, we see these standards pivot from project management processes to project delivery principles.

PMBOK 7 Value Delivery System

In the past, the PMI considered a project and operations to be two separate entities until the project was completed. The new Value Delivery System introduced in PMBOK 7 integrates projects and operations to deliver the best value for the business.

This defines the “What” and “Why” of project management that focuses on people’s thought processes and behaviour involved in project delivery. If you are still unsure about the delivery and outcome, the latest PMBOK is expanding. Take a look at the 12 principles defined in the Standard for Project Management.

  1. Be hard-working and respectful
  2. Create a culture of responsibility
  3. Actively engage stakeholders to comprehensively understand the interests and requirements
  4. Emphasize on value
  5. Acknowledge team interactions and respond accordingly
  6. Encourage, influence, teach and learn
  7. Customize the delivery strategy
  8. Ensure quality into procedures and outcomes
  9. Take notice of complications involved in knowledge and experience
  10. Report prospects and threats
  11. Be flexible
  12. Allow change to accomplish the predicted future state

PMBOK 7 Project Management Standards

The 7th PMBOK edition sheds the 6th edition’s five project domains and replaces them with 12 new project management standards:

  1. Stewardship
  2. Team
  3. Stakeholders
  4. Value
  5. Holistic Thinking
  6. Leadership
  7. Tailoring
  8. Quality
  9. Complexity
  10. Opportunities & Threats
  11. Adaptability & Resilience
  12. Change Management

PMBOK 7 vs PMBOK 6 - AasimOnline.com

How to PMP Exam on First Attempt

This is everyone’s dream to pass the PMP Exam on the first attempt. I have already posted my experiences and suggestions on preparing and passing this exam on the first attempt.

Comment 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.